Sources: Former Cup champion Kevin Harvick retires after 2023 season

Sources: Former Cup champion Kevin Harvick retires after 2023 season

Sources: Former Cup champion Kevin Harvick retires after 2023 season

Kevin Harvick will make 2023 his final Cup season behind the wheel, a 23-year Cup career that includes 60 wins and a Cup championship.

Harvick’s decision is expected to be announced on Thursday, sources say. Athletic first reported Harvick’s decision.

Harvick, 47, spent his entire Cup career in the spotlight replacing Dale Earnhardt after the seven-time Cup champion died in the 2001 Daytona 500.

The decision was not a surprise as the future NASCAR Hall of Famer had indicated in December that he would decide before the start of the season, and Stewart-Haas Racing co-owner Gene Haas said in October that Harvick had given no indication of wanting. keep running after 2023.

Harvick spent his first 13 seasons with Richard Childress Racing and is entering his 10th with Stewart-Haas Racing, where he won in 2014 in his first year driving a good friend Tony Stewart. In addition to 23 RCR Cup victories, Harvick also won Xfinity Series titles in 2001 and 2006.

Kevin Harvick wins in Richmond

Kevin Harvick wins in Richmond

Kevin Harvick holds off Christopher Bell’s late push to win at Richmond for straight wins.

A fiery racer, Harvick is known for his relentless competitiveness – a trait that has helped him win 121 NASCAR National Series races, but has also made him prone to controversy and contention.

Whether fighting Ricky Rudd or Chase Elliott, Harvick drove with swagger and brashness, unafraid to fight back if he felt it was necessary.

Harvick also owns an athlete management company and sponsorship sponsor Kevin Harvick Inc., which has primarily focused on race car drivers, golfers, and mixed martial arts fighters. In recent years he has focused on developing young riders, including taking his 10-year-old son, Keelan, to Europe to race.

For 10 years, KHI also fielded entries in the Xfinity and Truck Series with Ron Hornaday Jr. winning the 2007 and 2009 Truck titles and the team winning the Xfinity Series Owners Championship in its final season in 2011.

The Bakersfield, Calif. native grew up on the West Coast short tracks and won the NASCAR West Series title in 1998.

Bob Pockrass covers NASCAR for FOX Sports. He has spent decades covering motorsport, including the last 30 Daytona 500s, with stints at ESPN, Sporting News, NASCAR Scene magazine and The (Daytona Beach) News-Journal. Follow him on Twitter @bobpockrassand register at FOX Sports NASCAR Newsletter with Bob Pockrass.

Top FOX Sports Stories:

FOLLOW Follow your favorites to personalize your FOX Sports experience

Chase Elliot

Bubba Wallace

Kyle Larson

Get more from the NASCAR Cup Series Follow your favorites for game insights, news and more

in this topic

    Tony Stuart Tony Stuart
    Stewart Haas Racing Stewart Haas Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *